top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Pinterest Black Square
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black

An Extrovert's Needed Day Alone

Some days are just great. I travel basically every weekend of my life. I have for years. It's very rare that I stay home on a Saturday and even more rare that I spend a Saturday alone. It's because while sometimes I am a homebody, I'm an extrovert. I love company and I love sharing experiences. However, I have spent more time in my car than my house here in North Carolina. So this weekend I dedcided to show mercy on my wallet and my body by staying put in town.

I was honestly dreading this weekend. It's no secret that I've been homesick here in North Carolina. I'm homesick for Tennessee and Kentucky. Neither of which are too far away, which is partially the problem, they're close enough for me to drive to every weekend. But I'm running on empty and decided that a day home could be nice, I was so right.

10173803_10152801705986764_2788545591931373670_n.jpg

I went to My Local Bakery (that's the name, don't think I'm capitalizing stuff for the heck of it) for a pumpkin spice scone and coffee. I laughed walking in to the pink and brown painted bakery with pink boxes and fancy cupcakes because Taylor Swift's "Shake It Off" was blaring, which just seemed like the perfect, I feel like Taylor Swift exist so that bakery's have a soundtrack. After I ordered I sat at the tabel by the window and Shaggy's "It Wasn't Me" came on, and I honestly laughed out loud and immediatley sent a text to a friend who strangely loves Shaggy to tell her I missed her. After that I went to a noon matinee at the movie theater, let's just say I chose a cliche girl movie, ok fine I watched a Nicholas Sparks movie! I kept thinking of a part in Mindy Kaling's book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, where she compares her love of romance movies to her love of sci-fi, both are so incredibly unrealistic and enjoyable, I agree Mindy.

10173609_10152801704936764_6050778103845251064_n.jpg

When I walked out of the theater the lovely sound of a fiddle came from the park across the street and to my pleasent surprise was the "Oyster Outing Festival" complete with locally brewed beer and bluegrass music. I decided to full on enjoy the warm autumn sunshine and go drink a Pumpkin Ale and listen to the music for a bit. Once I came home I put a crockpot of Pumpkin Butter on and let the delicious smells fill my house. I read books on my front porch, made coconut salt scrubs for Christmas gifts and just all around enjoyed a day at home with music playing in the background. I'm sure you didn't need a recap of my day, but I wanted to record that this day existed and should I ever just become completely lost or unhappy, I'm going to refer myself back to this post and remind myself that I know the recipe to a good day.

10653289_10152801705296764_5163286327085385165_n.jpg

bottom of page